Defender 1995 300tdi. no drive ... help

· 9 · 1975

banzia

• Name: james
Defender 1995 300tdi. no drive ... help
« on: January 04, 2018, 06:54:54 PM »
Hi Guys
Hoping for some pointers.. Lost drive today just as I was taking of from traffic lights, just like it jumped out of gear...clunk...
Eventually was only able to move when I selected Low Range Diff Lock... Drove 2 miles to house and parked...

History..
About two years ago  I swapped out the old gear box for a discovery one. ( the mainshaft spline had stripped )

I am by no means an expert but if it was the shaft again surely it would not drive at all...

Its lying at house so have not had a chance to jack it up , just hoping someone out there might have some pointers...
Thanks
james
I Need To Stop Eating Biscuits

aqms987

Re: Defender 1995 300tdi. no drive ... help
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 10:46:03 PM »
 Hi
 Sounds like either a hub drive flange spline failure or a half shaft spline failure. If you remove the plastic cover @ each hub you should see rust or metal debris at the defective hub. Failing that if you jack up each wheel in turn you should be able to identify the broken half shaft if that is the defect instead. It is worth checking all the hubs, if one is worn then the others are likely to be suspect.

banzia

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2018, 07:44:31 PM »
Hi
Thanks for that, I will be having a look this weekend so will update what I find 
j

banzia

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2018, 03:09:28 PM »
Yeah you were spot on , turned out to be the N/S/F driving flange..
While checking the rest I found the o/s/f driving flange bolts were in a state 3 broken and just sitting in...rest a bit loose...
so rather than try and get the broken bolts out was thinking of replacing hub assembly...
anyone have any tips here
cheers

aqms987

« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2018, 09:26:04 AM »
 Hi Banzia